N.W. EDUCATION '88' FOUNDATION

Registered No. 899768675R0001
3211 Kenney Street
Terrace, B.C.
V8G 3E9

The N.W. Education '88' Foundation was established as a non profit society in 1977 with the goal of promoting the advancement of education through the provision of scholarships, bursaries and other financial assistance for students of merit or distinction.

The Society manages funds for over ninety-nine donors. Donors include individuals, service clubs, professional groups, companies, memorials and community groups. Terrace and area are to be commended for their generosity in financially supporting students for over forty years. In 2020 nearly ninety thousand dollars (\$90,000.00) was awarded through scholarships managed by the Society.

There are two types of funds, endowed scholarships (funds donated are to maintain the scholarship over a minimum period of ten years) and annual scholarships (funds donated annually). All donations receive an income tax receipt. If you wish to enquire about donating or establishing a scholarship please contact one of the Directors listed below or Robin MacLeod at Caledonia Secondary School.

Scholarships are often thought to be only for academic achievement but in fact they are awarded for many reasons. Some examples would be trades training, financial assistance, community involvement, overcoming obstacles, French Immersion, musical skills, school participation and athletics plus many are for a particular area of study, for example, pharmacy, education, medicine, forestry and engineering.

Members of the volunteer Board of Directors that manages the Society are:

Dawn Martin - Chair
Anne Malo - Secretary - Treasurer
Robin MacLeod - Caledonia Secondary School Scholarship Chairperson
Sandra Watson - Coast Mountains Board of Education School District 82 Board Representative
Lynda Lang - Coast Mountains School District Representative
Bryan Crampton - Director at Large
Michael Hogg - Director at Large
Rod Link - Director at Large
Brian Shaw- Director at Large

John Chen Wing – Honourary Member Harold Cox – Honourary Member